Which credit bureau does U.S. Bank pull?
Short answer TU TransUnion (varies by state)
Usually TransUnion, with Experian or Equifax reported in some states (e.g. parts of CA and TX).
Confidence: Medium: clear lean, with exceptions · 8 dated data points (0 in the last 12 months) · Updated 2026-10-17
What the data points show
Counts bureaus across individual user-reported data points since 2023. A single application can pull more than one bureau.
What other trackers say
- Doctor of Credit (CreditBoards data, 2014+) (as of 2016-11-01): 46 of 89 (~52%) TransUnion; ~25% Experian; ~24% Equifax.
- finbarrow (as of 2026-06-18): TransUnion / Equifax.
- StackEasy (as of 2026-08-31): TransUnion-leaning, but mixed; limited data.
These are secondary summaries. Some are years old (see the "as of" date). Each one is linked so you can check it yourself.
Data points by date
| Card | Source | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| (post date) | TX | EX | U.S. Bank (card not stated; thread about Smartly) Personal · 'Experian in TX.' Date = comment date. |
— | Reddit r/CreditCards comment (posted 2025-07-24) |
| (post date) | CA | EX | U.S. Bank (card not stated; thread about Smartly) Personal · 'Depends on your state. US Bank pulls EX in CA.' The date is when the comment was posted, not the application date. |
— | Reddit r/CreditCards comment (posted 2025-02-10) |
| (post date) | NJ | TU | U.S. Bank (card not stated; thread about Smartly) Personal · 'It was TransUnion for me in NJ.' Date = comment date. |
— | Reddit r/CreditCards comment (posted 2025-02-10) |
| (post date) | IL | TU | U.S. Bank (card not stated; thread about Smartly) Personal · 'TU for me in Chicago.' Date = comment date. |
— | Reddit r/CreditCards comment (posted 2025-02-10) |
| (post date) | MN | TU | U.S. Bank (card not stated; thread about Smartly) Personal · 'TU in MN.' Date = comment date. |
— | Reddit r/CreditCards comment (posted 2025-02-10) |
| MI | TU | U.S. Bank Cash+ Personal |
Approved | CreditBoards CreditPulls (user-submitted record) | |
| MI | EX | US Bank Cash+ Personal |
Approved | CreditBoards CreditPulls (user-submitted record) | |
| MD | EQ | US Bank Cash+ Personal |
Approved | CreditBoards CreditPulls (user-submitted record) |
Highlighted rows are from the last 12 months. Data points are self-reported by applicants on public forums and may be wrong or incomplete. We link every one to where it came from.
By state
| State | Bureau counts |
|---|---|
| CA | EX: 1 |
| IL | TU: 1 |
| MD | EQ: 1 |
| MI | EX: 1 TU: 1 |
| MN | TU: 1 |
| NJ | TU: 1 |
| TX | EX: 1 |
U.S. Bank 0% intro APR offers we track
- U.S. Bank Shield™ Visa® Card: purchases 0% for 21 billing cycles; BTs 0% for 21 billing cycles (verified 2026-10-17)
- U.S. Bank Triple Cash Rewards Visa® Business Card: purchases 0% for 12 billing cycles; BTs 0% for 12 billing cycles (verified 2026-10-17)
- U.S. Bank Business Shield™ Visa® Card: purchases 0% for 12 billing cycles; BTs 0% for 12 billing cycles (verified 2026-10-17)
FAQ
Which credit bureau does U.S. Bank pull?
Usually TransUnion, with Experian or Equifax reported in some states (e.g. parts of CA and TX). In StackScout's 8 dated, sourced data points since 2023, Experian appears 3 times, Equifax appears 1 time, TransUnion appears 4 times. Confidence: Medium: clear lean, with exceptions.
Does U.S. Bank pull a different bureau depending on my state?
Public data points suggest the bureau can vary by state (and sometimes by card or channel). Check the state filter below, and remember that one report is just one report.
Can I find out which bureau U.S. Bank will pull before I apply?
Not with certainty. Issuers don't publish this, and it can change. Recent data points from your state are the best signal. Afterward, the new hard inquiry on your credit reports shows which bureau was pulled.